Poppy’s Paint Powder review & a French Provencial Nightstand

So sorry!  It has been 10 days since I last posted and boy, what a week it has been.  My husband got a respiratory infection/flu and was home two days from work.  Then both of my grandsons, my daughter-n-law and my daughter got it.  The only people in my house to not get sick was my son and me.  Either way, time was not on my side and I found myself ‘stealing’ time to finish this project.

silverns9a

 When I saw this little table on the side of the road, it was in pretty ugly shape.  (pay no attention to the background, messy workshop, remember?)  It was a horrible green color and you could tell it had been outside for a while.  The paint was splitting on top and the wood seemed dry.  As soon as I saw it, I knew it would be beautiful with a little white & silver paint.

I wanted to use Krylon’s Looking Glass paint on this project, but I actually read the instructions first (tell no one about that).  If you want a mirrored finish you have to use a piece that is transparent, preferably glass.  When you spray the paint the opposite side is what creates the mirrored finish.  So….I used Design Masters Metallic Brilliant Silver.  I got it for $7.99 and I used a 40% off coupon at Michaels, $4.79…score and I only used about a third of the can.

Let’s just say I am a little cautious when it comes to companies that claim they have a product that will change how I paint.  Most are empty promises and do not deliver.

But, I am here to tell you today, Poppies Paint Powder is the real deal.

I made one cup of paint and started applying it to my nightstand and was impressed!  The paint went on smooth & easy and the coverage was awesome!

But, wait, I am getting ahead of  myself.  Let’s go back to the beginning.

silverns9e (2)

First I primed this poor French provincial nightstand (oops, her undies are showing) with Zinsser Bullseye 1.2.3 spray primer.  I didn’t go crazy with the coverage because I knew I would be putting a chalk style paint on.  I just wanted to cover that horrible green color.  So one coat and done.

Then, I mixed up my Poppies Paint Powder and added it to Behr’s Paint and Primer in Glidden White on White.  I decided to really put Poppies to the test.  I only used a paint brush on this piece.  Normally I would paint all the detailed areas, corners and trim with the brush, then I would use a roller, but I wanted to see how smooth a finish I was going to get with Poppies paint powder.  I was not disappointed and quite surprised.  The finish was smooth and the brush strokes were minimal.  Let me also say I used a well loved brush not a brand new one.

silverns9b (2)

beautifulonecoat

silverns9d (2)

As I was waiting for the paint to dry I noticed those pesky little tannins in the wood rearing their ugly head.  I hate that, but when you are painting furniture it is inevitable you will find pieces that cause this.  It’s not a bad thing, just annoying because you have to fix it before you can move on.  And fix it I did…with Zinsser Bullseye Shellac spray.  The shellac stops the tannins from continuing to bleed through your paint.  I sprayed two coats on and two hours later I was painting the second and final coat of my nightstand.  Bye, bye tannins!

The second coat went on beautifully too!  After all was dry, I taped off the bottom and inside of the drawer and spray painted using my Design Masters metallic silver spray paint.  I did four light coats then sealed it with a high gloss spray.  And of course I had to spray paint a French provincial pull I had in my collection.  Do you see how the details just pop when you paint?  You can see all the curved and carved details so much more.

silverns7 (2)

And here is the final with some spring and Easter decorations to dress her up.

I really like Poppies Paint Powder.  I like how easy it was to mix, how beautifully smooth it went on, it didn’t dry too fast during application and the final look after it was dry.  The only down side is the cleaning of the brush, but that is very common with most chalky paint finishes.  My advice is to clean your brush, immediately, after the second coat.

Poppies has given me another fantastic option for getting a chalky finish.  I cannot wait to do my next project while using the powder!  It won’t be furniture, but it will be metallic.

Do you like the combination of silver & white or would you have chosen a different color?  I’d love to know your thoughts!

             XOXO

                     Lia-magnolia

This entry was posted in DIY, furniture, Hand Painted, Home Decor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poppy’s Paint Powder review & a French Provencial Nightstand

  1. Pingback: Pink Metallic Paint and Aluminum Pitchers | Redoux it Vintage

Leave a Reply

