Organizing My Workshop, Part 1

Well, it’s that time.  Time to reorganize my workshop.  This is a continual process that never ends.  I hate to clean.  I love the end result, but I hate the process to get there.

Unfortunately, my workshop is in my basement that costs a million dollars to heat.  With that said, I try not to use the furnace.  If I haven’t said it before, we bought a fixer upper.  The basement is a walk out and, at one time, was quite beautiful.  But that was in 1987 and it needs a lot of work, new carpet, drywall, flooring, painting, the list is endless.  We have a portable heater, but the space is an open layout, which means it really doesn’t heat the area very well.  So, I have to wait until it gets a little warmer to clean and reorganize.

I went down there yesterday and was completely overwhelmed!  I have been just grabbing supplies and bringing them upstairs so I could paint or craft in the warmth.  I decided it needed a complete overhaul and this is how I felt about that…

organizationpost

Days, yes days.  It is going to take me all week, a few hours per day, to get my workshop organized.  Really, if I admit this to myself, it wasn’t fully organized in the first place.  It was temporarily ready to paint in.  The only thing that was really organized was my pegboard and knobs….kind of.

lucilleballscript

What is not awesome is this mess.  I am mortified that you are seeing this, but maybe it will help someone else who might be facing the same mountain.  I am not going to try and complete this in a day, it is just not going to happen.  I am going to take my time and hopefully get some real organization that I can truly work with and maintain.

ws6 (2)

This is only some of the furniture I have.  I know, crazy, right?

I am a hoarder…a hoarder of furniture, crafts and accessories.  I have everything from Styrofoam balls to large pieces of furniture.  When I say everything, I am NOT kidding.  I need to find places for everything!  The only item that is really organized is my paint.  I scored the above vintage cabinet late last fall that fits all of my cans of paint (well, not my spray cans, but I have plans for those) .  Woo hoo!

 

Let’s start with my fabric (not all of it, but some).  I needed a place to put my fabric that I could access quickly.  My first thought was to build some sort of shelf with closet rods or dowels, then I remembered!  I have an old wooden playpen that was dismantled and it already has rungs to hang the fabric!  Yeah, repurposing. 🙂

Found on the side of the road!

Not mine, but super close

It looked exactly like this one, but there wasn’t a bottom and it didn’t have all the hardware (I found mine on the side of the road).  So I had my hubby, (he’s so nice), take off the rivets on the side that held two of the panels together.  Then I washed, lightly sanded and sealed it with Miss Mustard Seeds Tough Coat Sealer.  I love this stuff!

My  original plan with this was to use a piano hinge on the long side so that I could easily remove the fabric when needed, but my husband talked me out of that.  He said the fabric would be too heavy and the hinge would eventually wear out.  Shhh!  He was right, but don’t tell him I said that.  So he took it into his workshop and added hinges at the top, attached it to a block and made wood triangles for support.  This way, if I am having trouble getting the fabric in or out, I can easily lift it slightly and it comes out easy.  I’ve already tried it, it works great!  I placed the fabric on every other rung.

I found a piece of old wood from an old fence and he cut it to size and put it on top.  Now, I have a place to display my cute vintage jelly jars….I love that!  Don’t worry, they won’t just look pretty, they’ll be used to store buttons, extra pins, etc.  Plus I have this book shelf on the bottom with a basket of burlap, a wooden box with my trim in it, a hat box with some scraps and a couple of pillow forms.

ws9i (2)I have a lot more fabric and pillow forms.  I am going to find a trunk to store it in.  As soon as I do, I will show it to you.  This is the final shot.  Not bad considering I can’t paint or change out the carpet.  It is a work in progress until I can put up my lighting (I have a great idea for that) and fill in the massive hole in the drywall due to a leak.  I am going to try and do all of it without spending money.  How’s that for a budget?

If anyone out there has any organization suggestions, please send me pictures.  I think it’s pretty obvious I need help!!

XOXO

Lia-magnolia.jpg

This entry was posted in DIY, furniture, organization, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

