Getting distracted by the little things

blackstool9

I am finding that it is getting easier to be distracted by the little things. You know what I’m talking about, when you’re trying to focus on completing a project and little things just keep demanding your attention.

Sometimes those little things are my grandchildren and quite honestly, I love those distractions…literally! But then there are those that need to be dealt with. The everyday things, dishes, groceries, exercising (really hate this one), dinner, the cold, etc. I know I have to do them, but I don’t want to, I want to just finish a project without any distractions, listening to 3 Doors Down and Bob Seger. I want to be able to sand my projects outside where the sun is shining and it is warm, not in a garage without heat. Aaah, the little things.

I try to focus on the big tall dresser I’m working on, that I’ve been working on for e v e r! Then, on my way to do the laundry, I get distracted by a little vintage stool and inspiration takes hold. This poor little stool looks so beat up and dark that I know all it needs is a little love, a little paint…bright paint and it will be a distraction no longer.

blackstool1blackstool2

So what do I do? Of course I have to save this little stool from the dark existence of waiting for its turn with the paint brush. I have to bring it some bright colors to fill its day with sunshine!  The dresser will have to wait….again.  Aaah, the little things.

blackstool3

I painted two coats of a beautiful pinkish paint, Red Delicious by Behr.  I just painted it on quickly in long strokes.  Oh and I did spray, one coat, with my go to primer, BIN 1 2 3.  I ran out in the middle so I had to make a run to the store….wah, wah, wah.   Sorry I don’t have a picture of the full bench, but the first picture I took disappeared off my phone.  Aaah, the little things.

The wonderful thing about stools…they don’t take long to get that instant satisfaction we so desire when we paint!  I waited one hour between coats and then two hours before I put the next color on, a fun turquoise called Paris Runway by Clark & Kensington.  What?!  Turquoise, on red?  You betcha!  A beautiful vintage stool deserves a beautiful vintage color combination.  Turquoise & Red are classics.  Back in the 50’s, you could find it everywhere.  I love it!

blackstool6

We got up to 44 degrees today, outside I go.  You see how pretty they look together?  The red peeks through the turquoise, that’s all, just peeks through.  Didja think I was going to paint stripes or something?  Layering, layering, layering, that’s what it’s all about.  Just one coat of turquoise was all it took.

Sanding kills two birds with one stone here, 1) a smooth finish and 2) more of the red pops out.  Just a little more sanding and it will be ready for polycrylic.  I chose polycrylic because I wanted this to be functional, not just tucked in a corner some where.  Poly gives it that extra protection that a furniture wax just can’t.  Although I love me some furniture wax…smells bad, but finishes to perfection.

blackstool1a blackstool9a

Back to 30 degrees, *sigh*.  Two coats of red, one coat of turquoise and 3 coats of poly.  I think this little stool turned out super cute.  Way better than the boring black that it was and doesn’t it look all cheerful and bright with the flowers and conversation hearts?  Don’t look now! My grandsons are coming to steal those hearts!!  Aaah, the little things. 🙂

Do you have any ‘little things’ that distract you or any ‘little projects’ that need your attention?  Let me know and send pictures!

XOXO,

Lia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

This entry was posted in Layering Paint and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting distracted by the little things

  1. Mary says:

    Hi Lia, I’m glad to here I’m not the only one distracted and taking so long to finish projects! I have four pieces of furniture that I’m doing at once. I’m hoping that by the end of the winter, I’ll have them all finished. I can tell your blog will be a good one, so I’ve decided to follow along. All the best, Mary

    Like

Leave a Reply

